Wed, 23 Sep 2020

TEHRAN (Tasnim) - Kuwait has expanded its ban on inbound and outbound commercial flights to 31 countries due to the continuing coronavirus pandemic, the civil aviation authority said.

- World news -

The ban comes on the same day the Persian Gulf country partially resumed commercial flights، with Kuwait International Airport set to run at about 30 percent capacity، the Middle East Eye reported.

According to the Twitter account of the Civil Aviation authority، the new list includes the following countries: India، Iran، China، Brazil، Columbia، Armenia، Bangladesh، the Philippines، Syria، Spain، Singapore، Bosnia and Herzegovina، Sri Lanka، Nepal، Iraq، Mexico، Indonesia، Chile، Pakistan، Egypt، Lebanon، Hong Kong، Italy، Northern Macedonia، Moldova، Panama، Peru، Serbia، Montenegro، Dominican Republic، and Kosovo.

A previous list included only Bangladesh، Philippines، India، Sri Lanka، Pakistan، Iran and Nepal، but a number of Kuwaiti members of parliament demanded that the government expand the list given the continued threat of COVID-19 in many other destinations.

Some have raised questions about the criteria behind the first list، while others specifically called for a ban on Egyptian flights after news that EgyptAir had scheduled 15 weekly flights to the country from the beginning of August، the Kuwait Times reported.

A trending hashtag by Kuwaiti social media users also demanded the ban on Egyptian flights.

Kuwait began a five-phase plan in June to gradually ease the lockdown imposed since the outbreak of the virus، which has so far infected 67،000 and killed 400 people in the country.

More Iran News

Access More

Sign up for The Iran News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!